Album Review: Front Porch Step – ‘I Never Loved Before I Found You’

Album Review: Front Porch Step – ‘I Never Loved Before I Found You’
Album Review: Beta Camp – ‘Violent Honey’
Album Review: Sorority Noise – ‘You’re Not As ___ As You Think’
Album Review: New Found Glory – ‘Makes Me Sick’

Jake McElfresh was an acoustic singer-songwriter from Newark, OH. From 2012 to 2015, McElfresh performed under the name Front Porch Step. Under this moniker, he released two records: Aware, a full-length released in November 2013 and Whole Again, an EP released in December 2014.

Touring extensively on these albums, both released by Pure Noise Records, McElfresh began cultivating close relationships with his fans. Some of which blurred the lines between engagement with those that appreciated his work and innapropriate contact with those that idolized him—in some cases with female fans under the age of 18.

Just a month after the Whole Again EP was available for purchase, allegations of misconduct began to circulate online. Girls began sharing stories of their relationships with McElfresh which stirred the hearts of many and triggered dark memories of even more. These relationships were largely based in the cyber-world. Text and photos messages were publicized by young girls that had been taken advantage of by McElfresh. This is the story of a person that chose to use his position of relative fame to take advantage of young fans that wanted to be involved with someone that made them feel something through his music.

After more and more stories began to surface, McElfresh played the victim himself in the following statements made on the Front Porch Step Facebook page:

Posted on 12.31.2014 at 8:30PM:

I am aware of the serious allegations and sensational things being posted on the internet about me and my personal life. While this is personally difficult to experience, I am taking the appropriate, meaningful, and objective steps to address the severity of these things and the horrendous words being used. I would truly hope that others who have or will propagate these serious allegations will do the same

Posted on 01.04.2015 at 1:30PM:

As I posted 3 days ago, I am taking the appropriate time to assess these very serious allegations against me and I am not taking them lightly. Until I can do that in a complete manner with all the information I have at my disposal, I will not be continuing with any current touring activities for the time being.

At this point, Jake McElfresh goes radio silent. He remained inactive for the next three months before releasing one final “statement” on the issue at hand. In it, he continued to deny his role in any misdoings and remained woefully unapologetic for his actions.

In June of 2016, nearly a year after Kevin Lyman allowed McElfresh to play at Warped Tour despite heavy protest from fans and musicians alike both on and off of the tour, a new song was released and all statements regarding his sexting minors were hidden from his social media pages. Archived copies of those statements can be located here (12.31.2014), here (01.04.2015), and here (04.03.15).

Also in June, Kalani Naihe comes forward about their personal experience with Jake McElfresh which includes forced sexual acts and severe manipulation.

In February of 2017, the Front Porch Step Facebook page is updated teasing what appears to be an album. He has still has not taken responsibilty for his actions.


The following is a timeline of links detailing the story of Jake McElfresh’s innapropriate relationships with children, the fallout, and subsequent battle that rages on to prevent Front Porch Step from continuing. These links are intended to educate from square one to present day.

December 2014 – January 2015 | The story breaks:

May 2015

June 2015

July 2015 | Front Porch Step plays Warped Tour Tennessee:

August 2015

October 2015

May 2016 | Front Porch Step plans to return:

June 2016 | Front Porch Step plans to return, pt II:

February 2017

  • 02.13.2017
    • Front Porch Step posts a teaser image for album.

(via jakemcelfresh.com)

COMMENTS